Living and Learning

I feel like I’ve been spending so much time with family that I need a break. The break couldn’t have come at a better as my sister is on holidays for about 1.5 weeks. I’ve been feeling really good getting to know her. I’m happy she is self-reflecting and she is becoming more compassionate.

Things I learned:

  • state your feelings about the situation
  • thoughts are separate from feelings – interpretation will determine blame as to why you feel that way
  • acceptance of the situation
  • exposure to anxiety ridden situations

My mom brought up the fact I took $300 from her. There was a misunderstanding and she refused to listen.

Things I wished she would do:

  • listen
  • understand
  • stop victimizing herself

Although I must accept how she is, it is difficult when she makes it about herself. She believes she has ungrateful children. I realized that’s where our guilt of repaying her comes from as whenever one is mad at her she brings up the fact she supported them.

